ARVC Announces Park of the Year Award 

by: RV Pro Staff

The National Association of RV Parks and Campgrounds (ARVC) named this year’s best parks at the 2018 Outdoor Hospitality Conference and Expo, which was held Nov. 5-8 in Oklahoma City.

“The Park of the Year awards honor the best of the best in the ARVC community,” said Paul Bambei, president and CEO of ARVC. “These parks have worked hard to be the best and it is our honor to recognize their efforts and to have them as part of the ARVC community.”

The ARVC Park of the Year Awards are presented to ARVC member-RV parks or campgrounds that deliver an all-around excellence in operations, professionalism, marketing, customer service and industry involvement. Awards are given in four categories: small, medium, large and mega. This year’s recipients for Park of the Year were:

  • Small Park of the Year: Anvil Campground (Williamsburg, Va.)
  • Medium Park of the Year: Tall Pines Harbor Campground (Temperanceville, Va.)
  • Large Park of the Year: Rincon Country RV Resort East (Tucson, Ariz.)
  • Mega Park of the Year: Rincon Country RV Resort West (Tucson, Ariz.)

Other award winners at this year’s ARVC Awards of Excellence include:

  • Stan Martin Award – ARVC’s highest honor, this award recognizes industry leaders whose tireless commitment to the RV park and campground sector of the outdoor hospitality industry is evident in their involvement, leadership, creativity and dedication: Ann Emerson, vice president of Good Sam Enterprises (Englewood, Colo.)
  • Pioneer Award – Recognizes early industry leaders and visionaries whose groundbreaking efforts have contributed through the years to the growth and success of the RV and campground sector of the outdoor hospitality industry: Pat Hittmeier, president of Kampgrounds of America (Billings, Mont.)
  • Supplier of the Year – Utility Supply Group (Kingston, Wash.)
  • Plan-It Green Friendly Park  – (small/medium) Yogi Bear’s Jellystone Park at Kozy Rest (Harrisville, Pa.); (large/mega) Santee Lakes Recreation Preserve (Santee, Calif.)
  • Campground Partner of the Year – Jaron Starner (Cedar Lake Campground in Dover, Pa.)
  • State Leader of the Year – Michael Hobby (Moon Landing RV Park and Marina in Lake Greenwood, S.C.)